#019 - Self-Awareness Ninja-Hack

Be a Leader Of Your Own States

 

Reading Time: 2.33 min. And welcome to 14 new subscribers!

👋🏻 Hello, and welcome to this week's issue of Refresh. Rethink.

🟣How are you feeling today?

Let me go a bit further on that ok?

🟣 How do you know you feel this way?

🟣 Where do you feel it?

🟣 What color would you give the feeling?

🟣 What temperature?

🟣 How much light is there in the feeling?

Did you get an answer to all of those questions? Yes? You've just used your conscious awareness to become aware of your feelings.👏🏼

As a leader, one of the most important things you can do for yourself and your team is to develop self-awareness.

Self-awareness is the ability to recognize and understand your emotional state, thoughts and behavior patterns”

Self-awareness is the ability to recognize and understand your emotional state. Also, your thoughts and behavior patterns are coming out of your state. It's a critical component of emotional intelligence—an essential skill for effective leadership.

Note to yourself:

As a leader, I must be aware that my state will always influence the people in my team. Whether I like it or not. Therefore I’m morally obliged towards my people to develop my self-awareness.

One way to train your self-awareness is to use a mood board. A mood board is a visual tool that tracks your emotional state throughout the day.

It's a simple but effective way to build self-awareness and increase emotional intelligence. It’s like

You may steal my personal mood board in MIRO here:
Click here to get a mood board in MIRO

Before explaining how to use this board to train self-awareness, let me explain the four types.

There are constructive and destructive states. And there are high-energy and low-energy states.

Type 1: Constructive - High Energy

These pleasant states positively affect and drive us and the people in your team. These states help us, although they also have a higher energy expenditure. Motivation, inspiration, and excitement sit here.

Type 2: Constructive - Low Energy

Also, pleasant states with, let's say, more of an energy-saving modus compared to type 1. These states influence others positively and balance our energy throughout the day. Relaxed, satisfied, and grateful sit here.

Note to yourself:

The more I spend my day in constructive states are the more I’ll find hapiness and success for the people around me, and myself.

Type 3: Destructive - Low Energy

Oh boy,... Have you ever heard of energy vampires? They sit for prolonged periods in this type of unpleasant state. Leaders who are unaware make people leave them for the vibration these states bring about. Depression, pessimism, and misery sit here—no Bueno.

Type 4: Destructive - High Energy

A better place to be in than Type 3. Take anger, for example. That state has at least high energy, and we get things done. But prolonged anger burns us and the people around us out. Anger, frustration, worry, and tension are destructive states.

Note to yourself:

The more I spend time in destructive states, the more I bring people around me down. Becoming aware of this, is the first step to let go of destructive states.

Now, on a more positive note, we can do something about it!

We're all human and experience all 4 types of states at times. Self-awareness gives us the power to let them go. To train that, you can use my mood board.

Here's how I use the mood board to raise self-awareness:

In the morning (AM) and evening (PM), drag a Post-it in MIRO to the square with the word that best reflects my state. Then, focus your conscious awareness on how the feeling feels.

👉 Ask yourself the questions I asked you at the beginning of this newsletter.

After a while, you'll notice that every state has its unique combination of signs, from facial expressions to body sensations, muscle tension, and even pains.

Note to yourself:

The more I use the mood board, the faster I'll be able to recognize my states. I owe that to myself and others.

The purpose of the mood board is not to judge yourself or try to eliminate negative emotions. Instead, it's a tool to help you become more aware of your emotional state and identify patterns affecting your behavior.

Once you've sharpened your self-awareness sword, you’ll be a ninja in recognizing the enemies and the good guys. The next step is moving from destructive to constructive states. This a topic for another issue of this newsletter. 😇

Starting with the mood board is a great way to raise your self-awareness

Give it a go! And let me know how it works for you.

See you next week!

Leon

When you’re ready to learn how I’ve helped other CEOs / Founders develop themselves as visionary and resilient leaders > Read this case study here.